Vernon Township

21 Church Street, Vernon, NJ 07462
Phone: 973.764.4055

Municipal Utilities Authority

Vernon Township Municipal Utilities Authority 

The Vernon Township Municipal Utilities Authority was established by ordinance in May of 2011.

As an independent agency under the aegis of the mayor and council, it was created specifically to oversee the day-to-day operations of the township’s sewer system. In this capacity, it has authority and jurisdiction over the collection and disposal of sewerage and wastewater, maintenance, rate setting, billing, policy decisions and capital planning.

The authority is governed by a board consisting of five commissioners and up to two alternates, all of whom are appointed by the township council. Terms of members and alternates are both five years, except that the terms for the inaugural set of appointed members will have staggered expiration dates ranging from service of one to five years.

The VTMUA's administrative office is located in the Vernon Township Municipal Building. It is open for business Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Regular meetings of the VTMUA are open to the public and are generally held the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Vernon Township Municipal Building and via Zoom. Special meetings are scheduled and held as required. Every meeting of the VTMUA will have a public comment portion at which time members of the public are welcome to speak. 

2023 MUA Adopted Budget

VTMUA Sewer Rate Breakdown 

2023 Municipal Utilities Authority Roster

Authority Member Term Ends 
Paul Kearney, Chairman 2/2029
Kristin Wheaton, Vice Chair  2/2028
Dave McDermott  2/2025
Edward DeYoung 2/2026
Patrick RizzutoAlternate #1


Mark R. Bower, Alternate #2 2/2025


Subcommittees and Charters 

Authority Professionals

Donelle Bright 
Administrator/Chief Financial Officer
21 Church St. Vernon, NJ, 07462
973.764.4055 x2277 
Jaclyn McCabe
Administrative Assistant/Recording Secretary 
 973.764.4055 x2277
Richard W. Wenner, Esq.
Authority Attorney 
Lavery,Selvaggi, Abromitis & Cohen, PC
1001 route 517, Hackettstown, NJ 07840
Steven L. Benosky
Authority Engineer
Dewberry, Inc.
600 Parsippany rd, Parsippany, NJ 07054
Robert McNinch
Authority  Auditor
Wielkotz and Company, LLC
100B Main St, Newton, NJ 07860

Vernon Township

21 Church Street
Vernon, NJ 07462

Phone: 973.764.4055 

Township Hours

Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.


Emergencies Dial 9-1-1
Non-Emergencies Dial 973-764-6155


Current Agendas

Township Council

Land Use Board