The hills of Vernon Township, New Jersey. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

Have an Addiction Problem?
Get help without fear of questioning, arrest or prosecution from law enforcement. Learn more about the Sussex County C.L.E.A.R. Program ».

Nominating Petitions Available
Candidate nominating petition packets for the offices of mayor and councilmember-at-large (2) for the November 5, 2019 municipal election are available in the township clerk’s office. All completed petitions must be returned by 4:00 p.m. on September 3, 2019.

Township News

alert

Miss Vernon 2019
Congratulations to Hannah Van Blarcom, a junior at Vernon Township High School, who was chosen as Miss Vernon 2019 by the Kiwanis Club of Vernon. She will represent Vernon Township at the New Jersey State Fair and compete for Queen of the Fair on Saturday, August 3, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.

Independence Day Fireworks
Come on out and enjoy this great family event on Saturday, July 6, 2019.
2019 Trails of Vernon Challenge
The challenge officially kicked off on June 1, 2019.
State Offers New Screening Tool DCAid
See if you are eligible for NJ utility and housing assistance programs.
Farmers Market Comes to Vernon
The market will take place from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the municipal building on the third Saturday of each month, April through September.
Township Revaluation Scheduled to Begin
The township has contracted with Realty Appraisal Company to conduct the revaluation process.

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, June 24
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, June 26
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, July 1
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, July 4
    • Independence Day–Municipal offices closed
  • Monday, July 8
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, July 9
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, July 10
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, July 11
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, July 15
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, July 16
    • 7:00PM Beautification Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, July 18
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, July 22
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, July 24
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 1
    • 7:30PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 5
    • 7:00PM Greenway Action
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 7
    • 7:30PM Board of Recreation
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, August 8
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, August 12
    • 7:00PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, August 13
    • 7:00PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, August 14
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building

Current Agendas

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • fill out our application form
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info
  • The Vernon Township Building Department is online
  • Vacant and abandoned residential properties must be registered