Pochuck boardwalk along the Appalachian Trail in Vernon. Photo credit: Nicholas Rinaldi

Update on Breakneck Road Resurfacing—Thursday, October 23, 2014
The resurfacing of Breakneck Road has been completed, however, the weather has delayed lane striping. For safety reasons, the roadway will remain closed until striping is done, which is expected to be completed some time on Monday, October 27. Please visit the Vernon Township Police Department Facebook page for complete information and updates.

SECTV Council Meeting Recordings
New! Links to taped council meetings can now be accessed via the Township Council » Meetings page. A TV icon will appear next to meeting dates listed in the regular meeting schedule when a YouTube video of a council meeting is available. Clicking on a TV icon will take you directly to that meeting video at the YouTube website.

Owens Station Road Closure
Owens Station Road (CR-642) at Bridge V-39 is closed to traffic for surface and bridge repairs. The closure is anticipated to last until December. View detour route .

Township News

From the Sussex County Health Department Regarding Ebola
Although the risk of an outbreak in the U.S. is very low, the department has provided links to useful information.
November Rabies Clinic
Vernon Township will be holding a free rabies clinic on Saturday, November 8, 2014.
Township Offering Walk with Me 2014
Recreation department sponsors active walking program.

More news »

Upcoming Meetings

  • Monday, October 27
    • 7:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, November 3
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, November 6
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, November 10
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, November 11
    • Veterans Day–Municipal offices closed
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, November 12
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, November 13
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, November 17
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, November 20
    • 7:00PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, November 24
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, November 26
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, November 27
    • Thanksgiving–Municipal offices closed
  • Friday, November 28
    • Thanksgiving–Municipal offices closed
  • Monday, December 1
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, December 8
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Tuesday, December 9
    • 7:00PM Environmental Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Wednesday, December 10
    • 7:00PM Land Use Board
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, December 11
    • 9:30AM Senior Citizens Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, December 15
    • 6:30PM Economic Development Committee
      Senior Center–Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:30PM Township Council–WS
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Thursday, December 18
    • 7:00PM Municipal Utilities Authority
      Vernon Municipal Building
    • 7:00PM Historic Preservation Commission
      Vernon Municipal Building
  • Monday, December 22
    • 6:30PM Township Council
      Vernon Municipal Building

Current Agendas

Vernon Weather

Saturday, October 25, 2014 at 4:51 AM

Fair Fair, 43° F

Today’s Forecast:
Sunny   High: 66° | Low: 46°

View Complete Forecast »

  • township directory
  • police on facebook
  • Vernon Vibes
  • external VTMUA website
  • township code
  • recycling info